RQS Update: Changes to Mandates and Recommendations

Mask Mandate

Kansas City, Missouri (KCMO) Mask Mandate

KCMO Mayor Quinton Lucas recently announced that the KCMO mask mandate is extended until December 2, 2021 only for children 18 and under while in schools and on school buses. 

Jackson County, Missouri Mask Mandate

On Friday, November 12, Jackson County canceled its mask mandate effective immediately. Jackson County legislators stated that school districts could make their own rules requiring mask mandates. 

What does this all mean for Raytown Schools?

As long as there is a mandate for anyone in our district to follow, all students, staff and visitors will be expected to follow the mandate while on district property. This means:

  • Masking is still required indoors and on school buses for students, staff and visitors.
  • Masking is not required when outdoors. 

CDC Guidance for Fully Vaccinated People

The CDC considers an individual fully vaccinated at: 

  • 2 weeks after their second dose in a 2-dose series, such as the Pfizer or Moderna vaccines, or
  • 2 weeks after a single-dose vaccine, such as Johnson & Johnson’s Janssen vaccine
  • If an individual does not meet these requirements, regardless of their age, they are NOT fully vaccinated. 

Fully vaccinated people can:

  • Participate in many of the activities that they did before the pandemic.
  • Resume domestic travel and refrain from testing before or after travel and from self-quarantine after travel.
  • Refrain from testing before leaving the United States for international travel (unless required by the destination) and refrain from self-quarantine after arriving back in the United States.
  • Refrain from routine screening testing if feasible. 

To reduce the risk of becoming infected with SARS-CoV-2 (the virus that causes COVID-19) including the Delta variant, and potentially spreading it to others, CDC recommends that fully vaccinated people:

  • Wear a mask indoors in public if they are in an area of substantial or high transmission.
    • Fully vaccinated people might choose to mask regardless of the level of community transmission, particularly if they or someone in their household is immunocompromised or at increased risk for severe disease, or if someone in their household is unvaccinated.
  • Get tested if experiencing COVID-19 symptoms.
  • Get tested 5-7 days after close contact with someone with suspected or confirmed COVID-19.
  • Wear a mask indoors in public for 14 days after exposure or until a negative test result.
  • Isolate if they have tested positive for COVID-19 in the prior 10 days or are experiencing COVID-19 symptoms.
  • Follow any applicable federal, state, local, tribal, or territorial laws, rules, and regulations. 

Additional links and resources