Return to Headlines

Raytown South High School’s Departments of Music and Theatre present, Seussical

Raytown South High School’s Departments of Music and Theatre will present Seussical the musical. The show will run Nov. 4-6 at 7 p.m. in the Raytown South High School Gymnasium. 

Seussical is a musical comedy by Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, based on the many children's stories of Dr. Seuss, with most of its plot based on Horton Hears a Who! and Horton Hatches the Egg! while incorporating many other stories. 

The principal cast includes Cameron Allen as Wickersham #2; Christjin Bell as Bird Girl; Breanna Bonner as Bird Girl; Kali Ellis as Who Citizen, Hunch; Parker Estlund as Jojo (Boy); Amiyah Jarvis as Jungle Creature, Who Citizen, Fish, Hunch, Cadet, and Circus; Jayden Jones as Horton; Ryan Lenzy as Wickersham #3 and General Schmitz; Alexis McAlister as Jungle Creature; Billie McCoy as Ms. Mayor; Nalla Morain as Jungle Creature, Hunch, and Fish; Zander Mckivergan as Who Citizen, Hunch and Hunter; Lazarus Murray as Gertrude McFuzz; Jaleigh Murphy as Dancer; Jasmine Muse as Who Citizen; John Overfield as Cat in the Hat; Caleb Pennington as Mr. Mayor; Millie Rhodes as Sour Kangaroo; Lyric Saul as Who Citizen; Anna Schank as Jungle Creature, Fish, Hunch and Cadet; Alec Snider as Bird Girl; Ares Stanford as Who Citizen and Cadet; Teresa Straws as Jungle Creature, Fish, Hunter and Hunch; Natasha Story as Who Citizen, Hunch; Maya Thomas as Vald Vladakof, Jungle Creature, Fish, Hunch, Cadet, and Circus; Jayme Thompson as Mayzie LaBird; and Nikyrean Wright as Bird Girl. 

The crew is led by Madison Ward as stage management and Ali Hoffman as assistant stage management. Other members of the crew include Devin Wood, Emily Fraser, Sirrouneus Looney, and Sureluis Hernandez as stage crew; Lea Chandler as properties crew; Tranae Adams and Audrey Moore as lighting crew; Weston Coffman as Sound Designer/Engineer; Franklin Key as sound crew; Skylar Lea as costume designer; Fiona Maiden, Winter Rains, and Brianna Johnson as costume crew; Rachel Hartman, Ella Long, Zoe Bass, Leah Schneider, and Megan Nevill as makeup and hair crew; and Abibatou Vilane as box office and publicity. 

The Raytown South High School Music Department is under the direction of Gretchen Kemp. The Raytown South Theatre Department is under the direction of Brent Martin. 

Tickets are on sale now and are $5 in advance and $7 at the door. You can purchase tickets online by going to and searching Raytown. Due to copyright restrictions, online streaming will not be available for this performance. Masks will be required for all in attendance. Questions should be directed to Brent Martin at